In the Hot Seat: Kana Kimura from Jessica Lang Dance

By Kendall Buzzelli

We sat down with dance ensemble member Kana Kimura to learn a little more about Jessica Lang Dance and life on the road as a professional dancer.

Name: Kana Kimura

Age: 34

Hometown: Hiroshima, Japan

JLDHeadshots.Kana.Misko.jpeg

How long have you been with Jessica Lang Dance?

I’ve been with Jessica Lang Dance (JLD) since the very beginning when the company was founded in 2011.

 

What makes Jessica Lang Dance different from other dance companies?

I think JLD is unique for its mix of classical and modern forms, not just in the choreography, but also in Jessica’s staging, music lighting, costume and design choices. Also, because she and the rest of the company are all so hardworking and creative, while being some of the nicest, sweetest, funniest and smartest people I have ever met or worked with. Another thing that sets JLD apart is Jessica’s dedication to dance education outreach, where she uses her own very unique, creative movement education called “LANGuage,” which involves creative thinking through exercise and it works for anyone, even non-dancers. 

01-03-13-2330-jessicalange-spectrum-c-g-1

Kana Kimura in “The Calling,” a Jessica Lang signature work.

What is your favorite piece to perform and why?

I enjoy all the pieces because of Jessica’s artistry and the creative collaboration the other dancers and I have with her. If I had to choose, I would say “The Calling,” because it’s very emotional for me, and I hope the audience feels the same.

 

Do you have any pre-show routines or rituals?

I take a nap before every show. It helps me to have a fresh start and gather my performance energy.

 

What has been the proudest moment in your career as a dancer so far?

This might sound obvious, but it has to be when I met Jessica and her husband Kanji and was invited to join JLD.

 

Tell us one random fact about yourself.

I love dogs, and every year I make a point to watch the Westminster Dog Show. It’s my World Cup, or Super Bowl. I love it.

 

Do you have a special diet on the road?

I don’t really but since I grew up eating lots of fish and rice in Japan and those are my comfort foods, when I’m on the road a lot, I immediately start craving sushi or Japanese food and try to find it in whatever city I am dancing in. This really relaxes and centers me, and I enjoy exploring new cities in order to find these foods.

jldthecalling1-1--copy.jpg

Kana Kimura in “The Calling”.

 


See Kana Kimura dance at Wharton Center in Jessica Lang Dance on February 28. Tickets are available at whartoncenter.com or by calling 1-800-WHARTON. Student tickets are only $18. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram to stay up to date on what’s going on at Wharton Center.
Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Performing Arts, Q&A, Wharton Center News

Leave a Reply

