A Backstage Q&A with Stephen Cerf of Motown The Musical

By Madison Stapels

Motown The Musical has Wharton Center moving and grooving from today through Sunday, March 20. We sat down with ensemble member, Stephen Cerf, to ask all of the questions you’re dying to know.


 

Stephen Cerf

Current show you recommend: Well obviously Motown the Musical, but I’m also working as a producer on a new Broadway Show, Tuck Everlasting.

Favorite Show Tune: I have to say anything Jason Robert Brown has written, but specifically his stuff from “The Bridges of Madison County”.

Performer I’d drop everything to see: Hugh Jackman. Any guy that can play Wolverine and perform on Broadway is pretty cool in my book.

Who would play me in a movie: Well, people say I look like Hugh Jackman, so I wouldn’t say no to having him play me in a movie, though since he’s older, maybe I could play him in a movie? Just putting that out there…

What roles are most rewarding: Different roles have different kinds of rewards, but my favorite roles to play are villains. I love playing characters who do things on stage that I would never do in real life.

One CD or album I couldn’t live without: Journey and The Eagles are my two favorite bands so any of their stuff.

What am I most looking forward to about being in East Lansing: Well my girlfriend is from Michigan and I’m meeting her parents for the first time while we’re here so I’m looking forward to that, but I’m also looking forward to getting to share Motown the Musical with the people of Michigan. Anytime we play Michigan it’s like bringing the show home.

My favorite Word: Yes.

My least favorite word: Hate.

What sound or noise do you love: Falling rain.

What sound or noise do you hate: Emergency sirens.

What profession other than mine would I like to attempt: At one time I really thought about becoming a doctor so I’d probably give that a try.


 

Motown the Musical is the true “American dream” story of Motown founder Berry Gordy’s journey from featherweight boxer to the heavyweight music mogul who launched the careers of Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, Smokey Robinson and many more. You don’t miss out on Motown The Musical while its here at Wharton Center! Tickets are still available, so get them while you still can here! A limited amount of specially priced $25 student tickets are also available here with a student ID.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in At Wharton Center, IN THE HOT SEAT, MSUFCU Broadway Series, Wharton Center News

Leave a Reply

