The Twelve Days of Saint Patrick’s Day

As we get closer to March 17th I can just picture the joyous celebration of the Irish holiday known as St. Patrick’s Day. As people prepare to be outfitted in their most fabulous green attire I begin to wonder, “Why is Christmas the only holiday with themed songs and carols?” I mean, I am about as festive as the next Grinch post heart-growing three sizes, but this just seems a little unfair. I have decided to channel my inner Irish and Chieftains musical spirit to present to you… The Twelve Days of Saint Patrick’s Day!

On the first day of St. Patrick’s Day, my true love gave to me/ A pinch because I wasn’t wearing green

Day One

PSA: Wear green, people!

 On the second day of St. Patrick’s Day, my true love gave to me/ Two tickets to see The Chieftains

Day Two

Just the tickets are definitely perfect, but why stop at just two days of gifts?!

 On the third day of St. Patrick’s Day, my true love gave to me/ Three helpings of corned beef and cabbage

Day Three.jpg

Yum! Three helpings, please and thank you!

 On the fourth day of St. Patrick’s Day, my true love gave to me/ A four leaf clover

Day Four.jpg

One clover, but years of good luck.

 On the fifth day of St. Patrick’s Day, my true love gave to me/ Five golden coins!

Day Five

So much better than any old golden rings.

 On the sixth day of St. Patrick’s Day, my true love gave to me/ Six cups of Irish Tea

Day Six

 

One cup will definitely not cut it on this holiday.

On the seventh day of St. Patrick’s Day, my true love gave to me/ Seven people-a-swimming

Day Seven

In the green Chicago River of course! Just kidding, please don’t swim in the Chicago River.

On the eighth day of St. Patrick’s Day, my true love gave to me/ Eight hours of parades

Day Eight

Definitely taking a parade break after that. 

 On the ninth day of St. Patrick’s Day, my true love gave to me/ Nine Irish step dancers

Day Nine

Riverdance, anyone?

 On the tenth day of St. Patrick’s Day, my true love gave to me /Ten Leprechauns-a-leaping

Leprechauns

Not sure how my true love gave them to me, but I am not going to question it.

 On the eleventh day of St. Patrick’s Day, my true love gave to me/ Eleven bagpipes piping

Day Eleven

Michigan State student seeks ten volunteers to join bagpipe band, promises members a Grammy-worthy song by 2018.

 On the twelfth day of St. Patrick’s Day, my true love gave to me/ Twelve more tickets to see The Chieftains!

Alright, maybe writing new holiday carols isn’t for everyone. Come to Wharton Center on March 3rd to kick off your St. Patrick’s Day celebrations the right way with a lively performance from the Irish folk band, the Chieftains. Their performance is guaranteed to get you stomping along in your seat.

Get your tickets here for The Chieftains at the Wharton Center on March 3rd at 7:30pm. There are also specially-priced $15 student tickets available for MSU students using their APID.

Posted in Wharton Center News

Leave a Reply

