Get to Know Rachel York

Cover Shot

As an actress, singer, and comedienne, Rachel York is one of today’s most versatile and entertaining performers. She’s appeared in several Broadway productions including City of Angels, Les Misérables, The Scarlet Pimpernel and Dirty Rotten Scoundrels. She’s also appeared in many touring and regional productions, including 101 Dalmations, Anything Goes and more. Recently, Rachel released her first solo album called “Let’s Fall In Love.” We had the opportunity to talk with her about her exciting experiences both on stage and off ahead of her November 24 performance at Wharton Center.

Wharton Center: What’s been your favorite role so far?

Rachel York: My favorite role is usually the role I’m playing at the time; I’ve been blessed to play some really wonderful parts. Just this past Sunday, I finished playing Reno Sweeney on the National Tour of Anything Goes which played the Wharton Center last October. It was like winning the triple crown: a great role, in a fabulous production, with an amazing cast. I know that’s a lot of superlatives, but it was a joyous experience. That said, I’m now very excited to play the role of “regular mom” to my 2.5 year old daughter.

WC: If you could pick any other role that you haven’t played, what would it be?
RY: I enjoy creating new roles from scratch; a character in a brand new musical that is different from those I’ve played before attracts my creative juices.

WC: What has been your favorite part of touring?
RY: My favorite part of touring has been the opportunity to share a great show with audiences around country; a show that leaves people happy and uplifted.

WC: What’s been the hardest part of touring?
RY: The hardest part of touring has been missing out on getting my daughter to sleep every night. The wear of travel and constant packing and unpacking is also a difficult aspect of touring.

WC: What was it like creating your first album?
RY: Creating my first album was glorious. I was able to hand-pick my favorite love songs — classics that I discovered growing up, many of which were introduced to me by my mom– that I’m truly passionate about. It’s an album of love standards that I recorded from the heart.

WC: You left for New York at age 19; what gave you the confidence to make such a drastic switch?
RY: My acting coach in LA encouraged me to go to New York. While somewhat cliche, there is thrush to the lyrics “If you can make it there, you can make it anywhere.”

WC: What have you learned from being a professional performer?
RY: Acting continues to educate me about life and people. It’s a study of human behavior and empathy; that’s the fun part. As far as the business goes, I’ve learned many lessons, and have hopefully become smarter and wiser as a result. One important lesson that I learned is not to sell myself short.

__________

Rachel York is performing this Sunday, November 24 in an intimate cabaret performance in the Pasant Theatre at Wharton Center.  Rachel will perform a variety of tunes including “Fly Me to The Moon,” “Diamonds Are A Girl’s Best Friend,” “River Deep, Mountain High” and much more. Learn more about the upcoming show, read Rachel’s bio and view the complete set list at  http://www.whartoncenter.com/events/detail/rachel-york-a-cabaret-performance

Check out some pics of more of Rachel’s best roles below!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Stephanie Archambeau

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in At Wharton Center, Q&A, Wharton Center News

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join the eClub
Support what you love.
Explore the Institute
